Countdown to Kinsley

Despite receiving unfavorable news at our last ultrasound, I refuse to allow myself to be depressed for the last 30 days of my pregnancy.

Yes, you read that correctly: 30 days.

The cool thing about having a due date that falls on the first day of a month is that it makes counting down super easy and fun. Kinsley is due to arrive on July 1st, and now that my pregnancy is deemed high risk, the doctors have decided that if we make it to my due date, I will be induced that day to prevent any complications as Kinsley gets bigger and possibly deprived of oxygen and nutrients due to her umbilical cord abnormality. Being that today is the first of June, all that remains are the thirty days left in this month.

That being said, about two weeks ago I decided that during the month of June I would make it a point to do at least one thing per day that I’ve come to love as an adult before my life turns upside down and I become a parent. I decided to do this as part of my count down to baby Kinsley because it think it will be a nice way to celebrate and cherish the last weeks of my pregnancy while having a final 30 day self care binge at the same time.

The closer we get the more real becomes the idea that after Kinsley is born my life will be completely different from anything it’s ever been; I won’t be living for me anymore, instead every move I make will be for her. These 30 days before Kinsley will hopefully give me a chance to reflect on the good life I’ve had as a non parent.

I’ve made a list of the 30 things I plan to do, but I’m not going to post it here, instead, you’ll have to watch my blog for the updates. If I don’t post one here every day, you can be sure to find it on my instagram feed under my username: mirlynnn.

Without further ado: here is #30daysbeforeKinsleyJune

Leave a Reply

